Minecraft and Me

I don’t think this actually matches with any quest in our class, but I wanted to put this up in case anybody wants to read about my dysfunction. Two summers ago I played Minecraft for the first time. I did not realize until recently that it was in survival mode, not creative mode. So if you read this thread when it was titled creative mode, my first set of images are wrong.

I did not get engaged with it because it was just a flat piece of land, no trees, no water, and not even any deeper than 3 blocks. I have no clue why my world was created this way. I did the quest through 3dGameLab in summer 2012 and here are pictures of the landscape I was allowed to play with. The “town” has people who give me glances and grumble.

The images are dark because it was night and I have too many other things to do than wait for daylight. I tried to set it to daylight, but was told I did not have that permission. This reinforces me thinking that I was in a setting that was not like normal Minecraft. I’ve been able to do commands in other worlds.

I also apologize for the untrimmed images. I changed the forward key from W to alt because hitting the alt key is much more comfortable. Well, alt-printscreen has me slamming forward in every pic I take that way. Plus, I think all you can see in the background is MC stuff.

Some screenshots of the land I don’t use:

3 layers of land

3 layers of land

Update of images- these were taken in daylight.

flat land

flat land

small village in the distance

small village in the distance

a hole I dug

a hole I dug

cow

cow

neighbors

neighbors

neighbors' houses

neighbors’ houses

all that I could gather in this world

all that I could gather in this world

neighbors and their garden

neighbors and their garden

neighbors' garden

neighbors’ garden

my view

my view

small village

small village

sun setting

sun setting

Screenshot 2014-10-06 16.04.54 Screenshot 2014-10-06 16.05.08 Screenshot 2014-10-06 16.05.23 Screenshot 2014-10-06 16.06.02

 

 

 

Shots of the village:

 

The villiage

The village

Screenshot 2014-10-02 17.49.32

more of the village

more of the village

So that was my first experience with Minecraft. Can you blame me for not wanting to do any more with it. Here I am 2 years later and am having a completely different experience. I wish I had had the experience I’m having now 2 years ago. I would be so much further along with my learning. I hope my “instructor” from summer camp does see this post because s/he needs to change the way that course was designed. If I find something that I can hook on to explore or have fun doing, I will. For the most part, the adventures I can have lately involve the computer so learning how to play a game is something I’d gladly do, unless it makes me motion sick.

That leads into my next revelation: at the moment, creative mode is too challenging for me to do it comfortably. I want to barf when I do creative mode. I have not figured out how to handle the perspective when dropping blocks and the motion makes me queasy. I was all happy because I was expecting all of the virtual worlds to make me motion sick because in the past they have. I’ve been addicted to the peaceful version of survival mode for nearly 2 weeks now and have not felt ill at all. I was doubting my previous inclinations to just wanting to go to sleep instead of continuing with the required chore of the game. I was actually having fun exploring and posing hypotheses to see if I can predict when something is going to show up and when. I attended a second life informal session and did not feel nauseous. What a joy! I may be able to participate in Second Life after all, without getting too cranky. Optimism abounds.

Then I work on my “creative” project and my vision gets really ticked off. That must have been what I tried to do in the past because I get nauseous now when I attempt to build in that mode. It is a combination of vertigo, dizziness, queasiness, and just plain disgust.  I have at least one more required quest that involves creating or building my own image so we’ll see how things go.

Oct 9, 2014, update to creative mode projects

I am getting better at controlling creative mode. I have to be careful because I am still having spatial challenges, but the visual / vertigo side effects don’t seem to be very prevalent. I hope I can continue to not get motion sick at every opportunity.  Fingers crossed!

About Melissa

I am a former high school science teacher and recently completed a MET degree at Boise State

Posted on October 2, 2014, in EDTECH 531 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

